SLIS Jobline Your Source for Professional, Pre-Professional, and Internship Positions

Applications Open for Gerd Muehsam Award and Wolfgang M. Freitag Internship Award


The ARLIS/NA Student Advancement Awards subcommittee is accepting applications for the Gerd Muehsam Award and the Wolfgang M. Freitag Internship Award for 2020-21! The deadline for both awards is December 13th, 2020, but we hope that eligible students will submit their internship applications and student papers related to arts librarianship or visual resources as soon as possible. Please visit the individual awards websites for more information.

In addition to applications and papers related to art librarianship, submissions related to museum, academic, studio, and related specialties are welcome.

Gerd Muehsam Award:

The Gerd Muehsam Award is given annually to recognize excellence in a graduate student paper or project on a topic relevant to art librarianship. Any student enrolled in an accredited graduate library program, or in a graduate program in art history or a related discipline, is encouraged to submit a paper or online project created in conjunction with a course assignment during the previous eighteen months (or since June 2019). One submission per person.

To apply, please submit the following:

  • Paper or online project about a topic relevant to art librarianship, written as a course assignment.
  • An abstract of 250 words for a paper submission, or 250-word summary for an online project.
  • A title page that includes the name of the institution, the course for which the submission was created, and the name of the faculty member assigning the paper/project.
  • Applicants must include their mailing addresses, email addresses, and telephone numbers with their applications.

The award includes:

  • $500.00 prize.
  • Conference registration and up to $300 travel reimbursement to attend the ARLIS/NA 49th Annual Conference in Montréal, Quebec, May 9–15, 2021.
  • Opportunity to present the winning paper at the conference as part of the New Voices in the Profession panel.
  • One-year membership to ARLIS/NA.

For more information, see

Wolfgang M. Freitag Internship Award: 

The Wolfgang M. Freitag Internship Award aims to represent the multifaceted nature of the art library field by providing a paid internship opportunity to a student currently enrolled in, or having completed within the last 12 months, a graduate program in library and information science, art history, architectural history, architecture, studio art, or museum studies. In accordance with the policy of the host institution, the internship can be conducted online or on site.

To apply, please submit the following: 

  • A current résumé. 
  • A current transcript in PDF format (unofficial transcript is acceptable). 
  • The names of two professional or scholastic references with addresses, telephone numbers, and email addresses. 
  • An essay of up to 900 words addressing your skills, background, and expectations of the internship experience, including the type of institution you are interested in as well as potential project ideas.

The award includes: 

  • $3,000 to support a 150-hour internship in an art library or visual resources collection.  

For more information, see

All applicants will be notified of the results by January 14, 2021. Both awards will be announced and presented during convocation ceremonies at the 49th Annual ARLIS/NA Conference in Montréal, Quebec, in May 2021.